October 29 - 2012 Maori All Blacks named

Tanerau Latimer has been named as captain for the Maori All Blacks three match tour to England. Aotearoa Fisheries Ltd have secured naming rights for the tour and, in addition, BNZ will sponsor the team for three years.

Jamie Joseph - Coach

Tanerau Latimer - captain

“Aotearoa Fisheries Ltd is the naming rights sponsor for the Maori All Blacks end-of-year tour, and the next two international tours the team will undertake. BNZ will sponsor the team for three years and have their logo on the front of the jersey for this tour.”

From: 2013 Rugby Almanack “Chronicle of Events” p. 367.


“Aotearoa Fisheries Ltd secures tour naming rights.

-BNZ to sponsor team for three years.

The Maori All Blacks squad for the end of year tour to the United Kingdom was named in Auckland today. The squad was announced by New Zealand Maori Rugby Board Chairman Wayne Peters who also revealed two sponsorship deals for the re-named Maori All Blacks. New Zealand’s largest Maori-owned fisheries company, Aotearoa Fisheries Ltd, has secured naming rights for this tour and two subsequent international tours. In addition, BNZ will sponsor the team for three years. The agreement includes BNZ’s logo on the jersey for this tour with the New Zealand Rugby Union’s new Major Global Sponsor AIG taking over front of jersey sponsorship from 2013. Wayne Peters said: “We are very proud to announce the first squad for the re-named Maori All Blacks (formerly New Zealand Maori). This is a very special team that has a unique place in our rugby and cultural history. “We are also thrilled to have two significant commercial partners on board joining our Principal Partner adidas in backing our team.” The 26-strong squad leaves on 6 November for a three-match tour with matches against Leicester Tigers, an RFU Championship XV, and Canada in England.

The squad for the Aoteaora Fisheries Maori All Blacks European Tour is: FORWARDS Hookers Hika Elliot – Ngati Awa – Hawke’s Bay Quentin MacDonald – Rangitane – Tasman

Props Ben May – Ngati Maniapoto – Waikato Bronson Murray – Ngapuhi – Bay of Plenty Ben Afeaki – Ngati Awa – North Harbour Jacob Ellison – Ngati Porou – Otago

Locks Jarrad Hoeata – Ngati Kahungunu – Taranaki Jason Eaton – Ngati Apa – Taranaki Romana Graham – Ngati Awa – Waikato Ross Filipo – Muaupoko – Wellington

Loose forwards Nick Crosswell – Ngati Porou – Manawatu Tanerau Latimer (capt) – Te Arawa – Bay of Plenty Elliot Dixon – Ngapuhi – Southland Karl Lowe – Ngati Kahungunu – Hawke’s Bay Shane Christie – Ngati Kura – Tasman

BACKS Halfbacks Jamison Gibson-Park – Ngati Porou/Nga Tai – Taranaki Frae Wilson – Ngati Rangi/Te Ati Awa – Wellington

First five-eighth Willie Ripia – Ngai Tuhoe – Bay of Plenty

Midfield backs Tim Bateman – Ngai Tahu – Wellington Jackson Willison – Ngati Mahuta – Waikato Charles Ngatai – Ngati Porou/Te Whanau-a-Apanui – Wellington

Outside backs Declan O’Donnell – Ngati Tuwharetoa/Ngati Porou – Waikato Andre Taylor – Ngati Tuwharetoa/Ngati Kahungunu – Taranaki Kurt Baker – Ngapuhi – Taranaki Trent Renata – Ngati Maru – Waikato Kade Poki – Te Ati Awa – Southland

Maori All Blacks Coach Jamie Joseph said he was delighted with the calibre of his team. Bay of Plenty stalwart Tanerau Latimer will captain the side. “The Maori All Blacks are a unique team and we feel very privileged to be part of this special campaign. We have selected Tanerau as captain for his perfect mix of talent and leadership on and off the field – and we have seen him put both to good use in this year’s ITM Cup. We are very excited about this tour to England as the programme offers an excellent opportunity to display the depth of talent we have. Taking on the Leicester Tigers and the unique Championship XV at home will be a challenge for us, especially knowing that the home advantage will be a huge factor for them. We are looking forward to the challenge and I know these young men selected today will rise to the occasion,” Joseph said.

******* Maori All Blacks schedule:

• 13 November, v Leicester Tigers, at Welford Road Stadium

• 17 November, v Championship Select XV, at Castle Park

• 23 November, v Canada, at Oxford University.”