October 14 - 2006 Meads and Lochore Cups

In 2006 the NZRU changed its provincial championship. Instead of three divisions, with promotion relegation each season, the fourteen top teams played for the Air New Zealand Cup. The remaining twelve unions played in a Heartland Championship, in two pools of six. At completion of pool play, teams were divided into a top half playing for the Meads Cup and a lower half playing for the Lochore Cup. Points from pool play were carried forward, with the top four from each Cup qualifying for semi-finals.

The Cups were named in honour of All Black greats Colin Meads and Brian Lochore, both of whom played for provincial unions now part of the Heartland Championship, Meads for King Country, Lochore for Wairarapa Bush.

All Blacks great Sir Colin Meads with the Colin Meads Cup

The final stages of the 2006 Heartland Championship:

Semi-finals, October 14 2006:

Meads Cup

At Memorial Park, Masterton.

Wairarapa Bush 25 (Harwood, Riwai-Couch, Togia tries. Riwai 2 conversions, 2 penalty goals.)

North Otago 19 (Tuamoheloa, Hay, Kaufuna tries. Davies 2 conversions.)

Referee: M V Stanish.

At Cooks Gardens, Wanganui.

Wanganui 30 (Tikoirotuma 2, Ateria, Fetuia, Baldwin tries, Koro conversion, penalty goal.)

Mid Canter bury 17 (Woods try. Maw 4 penalty goals.)

Referee: V G Munro.

Lochore Cup

At Paeroa Domain, Paeroa.

King Country 17 (Wanden, Perez tries. Strang 2 conversions, penalty goal.)

Thames Valley 15 (Harrison 5 penalty goals.)

Referee: B A Murray.

At Rugby Park, Gisborne.

Poverty Bay 34 (Gardner 2, Ravulo, Logan, Hallgarth tries. Leighton 3 conversions, penalty goal.)

Buller 10 ( Hughes try. Foote conversion, penalty goal.)

Referee: J B Noonan.

Finals, October 21 2006:

Meads Cup

At Cooks Gardens, Wanganui.

Wairarapa Bush 16 (Seumanatafa try. Rimene conversion, 3 penalty goals.)

Wanganui 14 (Tikoirotuma, Tyrell tries. Koro 2 conversions.)

Referee: M V Stanish.

Lochore Cup

At Rugby Park, Gisborne.

Poverty Bay 46 (Leighton 2, Gardner, Tamatea, Owen, Ngatu tries. Leighton 4, Logan conversions, Logan 2 penalty goals.)

King Country 34 (Wanden 2, Olsen 2, Taylor tries. Strang 2, Murrell conversions, Strang penalty goal.)

Referee: C J Pollock.